Logo MAC/AMC Mineralogical Association of Canada
Association minéralogique du Canada
Home | Online Store | Site Map | Contact Us
Proceedings 2001
Proceedings 2002
Proceedings 2003
Proceedings 2004
Proceedings 2005

The Young people site
  • Minerals of Canada Poster

  • Print Version

    Proceedings 2002

    The 47th annual meeting of the Mineralogical Association of Canada

    The 47th annual meeting of the Mineralogical Association of Canada was held May 27-29th at the University of Saskatchewan, in the picturesque city of Saskatchewan ("Hub City"), Saskatchewan. The meeting had over 530 registrants and included 11 field trips. One of the highlights for many attendees was the opportunity to view the new Canadian Light Source Synchrotron Radiation Facility, truly one of the most significant scientific facilities ever created in Canada. Visits, arranged as part of an MAC-organized short course ("Synchrotron Radiation: Earth, Environmental and Material Science Applications"), provided a behind-the-scenes look at the facility, which was nearing completion.

    The scientific program consisted of four symposia, 20 special sessions and nine general sessions, along with 11 field trips. Outside of the regular GAC-MAC meeting venue, MAC sponsored the first Leonard G. Berry Summer School. It was held in the Department of Geological Sciences at Queen's University, August 12-14, 2002, and focused on X-ray powder diffraction and application of the Rietveld method. Ron C. Peterson (Queen's University) and Mati Raudsepp (University of British Columbia) co-chaired the school, which was attended by about 20 graduate students, researchers and professors alike. By all accounts, this first school was an immense success. MAC Council hopes that this is the first of many Berry Schools to come. The Association also supported the eighth biennial PACROFI Conference, which was held in Halifax, Nova Scotia (July 21-25) and co-chaired by Dan Kontak and Alan Anderson. The meeting attracted approximately 70 registrants and covered a wide variety of topics related to research on fluid inclusions.

    The annual MAC luncheon and award presentations were held May 28 in Exeter Hall at University of Saskatchewan. The Hawley Award for 2002, for the best paper in Volume 39 of The Canadian Mineralogist, was awarded by Association President Norman Halden to Rod C. Ewing for his paper, "The design and evaluation of nuclear-waste forms: clues from mineralogy" (Vol. 39, p. 697-716). The Past Presidents' medal was awarded to John L. Jambor for his long-standing devotion and efforts to both MAC and The Canadian Mineralogist. The Berry medal was awarded to Robert T. Downs (University of Arizona) in recognition of his efforts in developing a Crystal Structure Database and acting as Technical Editor, Crystal Structures, for manuscripts submitted to The Canadian Mineralogist. The Young Scientist's medal was awarded to James M. Brenan (University of Toronto). The Ann Sabina Awards, made on behalf of the CCFMS, were presented to Mr. Gilbert Benoit (Sudbury, Ontario; Advanced) and Mr. Jean-François Poulin (Sudbury, Ontario; Beginner) at the Sudbury Gem and Mineral Show.

    The Annual Business meeting took place on May 29th in the Department of Geological Sciences at US. Once again, open discussion of the future of MAC in terms of joint meetings occurred. In general, it was concluded that MAC should be open to sponsoring or jointly holding meetings with organizations outside of the traditional GAC-MAC umbrella. The cost of Ordinary and Corporate/Institutional Memberships will remain unchanged for the coming year, thanks largely to efforts of the Publication Committee. Four new MAC publications will be available in the coming year. The Atlas of Non-silicate Minerals in Thin Section (a joint publication with the University of Barcelona) and Mineral Species Discovered in Canada, and Species Named after Canadians (by László Horváth, Special Publication 6) and two short-course volumes, one on the Environmental Aspects of Mine Wastes and one on the Analysis and Applications of Fluid Inclusions.

    The audited financial statements to year end December 31, 2002, prepared by Joanne L. Dorman, Chartered Accountant (Burnaby, British Columbia) list our equity in excess of $640 000, with a recognized surplus of $66 000 over the past year. The audited financial statements are published in Newsletter 68 (p. 4-5).

    The Association, through the MAC Foundation, awarded its $10,000 graduate scholarship to Daniel Layton-Matthews, University of Toronto. Your financial support of this very deserving award is greatly appreciated. Please direct any inquiries regarding donations to the MAC Foundation to R.H. Mitchell, Chairman of the Board, MAC Foundation, Lakehead University, Thunder Bay, Ontario, P7B 5E1 (rmitchel@gale.lakeheadu.ca).

    The next Joint Annual Meeting of GAC, MAC and SEG will take place in Vancouver, British Columbia, May 25-28, 2003. The theme for the meeting is "On the Edge: Earth Science at North America's Western Margin" (Vancouver2003@nrcan.gc.ca). The MAC will continue to show a strong presence at the Joint Annual Meeting, including sponsorship of several special sessions and short courses. Hope to see you there!

    Andrew M. McDonald

    © 2006 Mineralogical Association of CanadaLast update 2014-02-05