Menu Close

About MAC

Mineralogical Association of Canada (MAC) was formed in 1955 as a non-profit scientific organization to promote and advance the knowledge of mineralogy and the allied disciplines of crystallography, petrology, geochemistry and mineral deposits.

MAC has a commitment to further public awareness of mineral sciences and promote excellence by giving out several medals and awards; two yearly scholarships of $5000, one to a MSc student and one to a PhD student; Travel and Research grants to assist honours undergraduate and graduate students in the mineral sciences; and the top student in introductory mineralogy course at each Canadian university can be nominated to receive the annual MAC Student Award.

Through annual meetings, short courses, publications and sponsored symposia, the Association provides a forum for the presentation and dissemination of current knowledge and advances to the worldwide community of earth scientists.

Executive Council

President (2018-2020)
Paula C. Piilonen
Canadian Museum of Nature
240 McLeod Street
Ottawa, ON K2P 2R1
Canada
Phone: 613-566-4285
Email: ppiilonen@mus-nature.ca
Home Page

Vice President (2018-2020)
Andrew Conly
Lakehead University
955 Oliver Road
Thunder Bay, ON P7B 5E1
Canada
Phone: 807-343-8463, 807-346-7823
Email: aconly@lakeheadu.ca
Home Page

Past President (2018-2020)
Andrew M. McDonald
Department of Earth Sciences
Laurentian University
Sudbury, ON P3E 2C6
Canada
Phone: 705-675-1151 ext 2266
Email: amcdonald@laurentian.ca
Home Page

Secretary
Pamela Iraheta Muniz
816 Schooner Crescent
Ottawa, ON K1V 1Y8
Canada
Phone: 613-295-0444
Email: pamela.irahetamuniz@gmail.com

Treasurer
Marc Constantin
Université Laval
Dépt. de Géologie & de Génie-Géologique
Pavillon Adrien-Pouliot
Québec, QC G1K 7P4
Canada
Phone: 418-656-2131 poste 3139
Fax: 418-656-7339
Email: marc.constantin@ggl.ulaval.ca
Home Page

Finance Committee Chairman
Remy Poulin
Harquail School of Earth Sciences
Laurentian University
935 Ramsey Lake Rd
Sudbury, ON P3E 2C6
Canada
Phone: 705-675-1151 ext 6575
Email: ry_poulin@laurentian.ca

Councillors to May 2020

Aaron J. Lussier
Canadian Museum of Nature
240 McLeod Street
Ottawa, ON K2P 2R1
Canada
Phone: 613-566-4700
E-mail: ALussier@mus-nature.ca

Kriss Leftwich
PROTO Manufacturing
12350 Universal Dr.
Taylor, MI 48180
United States
Phone: 734-946-0974
E-mail: kleftwich@protoxrd.com

Councillors to May 2021

Soibhan (‘Sasha’) Wilson
Faculty of Science
University of Alberta
Edmonton, AB T6G 2E9
Canada
Phone: 780-492-5659
Email: sawilson@ualberta.ca
Home Page

Dr. Emmanuelle Cecchi
UQAT
URSTM-IRME
445, Blvd de l’Universite
Rouyn-Noranda QC J9X 5E4
Canada
Phone : 819-762-0971 ext 2573
Email : emmanuelle.cecchi@uqat.ca
Home Page

Councillors to May 2022

Crystal LaFlamme
Université Laval
Dépt. de Géologie & de Génie-Géologique
Pavillon Adrien-Pouliot
Québec, QC G1K 7P4
Canada
Phone: 418-656-2131
Fax: 418-656-7339
Email: crystal.laflamme@ggl.ulaval.ca

Dr. Jacob Hanley
Saint Mary’s University
Department of Geology
Mineral Exploration and Ore Fluids Laboratory
923 Robie Street
Halifax, NS B3H 3C3
Canada
Phone: 902-491-6334
Email: jacob.hanley@smu.ca