Menu Close

Peacock Medal

The Peacock Medal is awarded to a scientist who has made outstanding contributions to the mineral sciences in Canada.

There is no restriction regarding nationality or residency. The medal is intended to recognize the breadth and universality of these contributions in mineralogy, applied mineralogy, petrology, crystallography, geochemistry or the study of mineral deposits rather than in a narrow area of expertise.

A committee of three Past Presidents, chaired by the immediate Past President, considers all nominations received.

Nominations should be accompanied by a one-page explanation of the merits of your nominee and forwarded to Dr. Ron C. Peterson by December 31:

Ron C. Peterson
Queen’s University
Department of Geological Sciences and Geological Engineering
Kingston, ON K7L 3N6
Phone: 613-533-6180 ext. 36180
Fax: 604-228-6088

Previous recipients of the medal are:
Heather E. Jamieson (2017)
Peter C. Burns (2016)
Donald Bruce Dingwell (2015)
Don R. Baker (2014)
David R.M. Pattison (2013)
Dante L. Canil (2012)
Daniel J. Kontak (2011)
Brian J. Fryer (2010)
Don Francis (2009)
Kelly Russell (2008)
Sarah-Jane Barnes (2007)
Joel D. Grice (2006)
Anthony E. Williams-Jones (2005)
Fred Wicks (2004)
Ed Ghent (2003)
John L. Jambor (2002)
Kurt Kyser (2001)
Greg Anderson (2000)
Frank C. Hawthorne (1999)
Fred J. Longstaffe (1998)
Mike E. Fleet (1997)
Thomas E. Krogh (1996)
Hugh Greenwood (1995)
Roger Mitchell (1994)
Louis Cabri (1993)
Robert Boyle (1992)
Tony Naldrett (1991)
Lincoln Hollister (1990)
Rob Kerrich (1989)
Steve Scott (1988)
Peter Roeder (1987)
Don Sangster (1986)
Denis Shaw (1985)
Petr Černy (1984)
Gabrielle Donnay (1983)
Len Berry (1982)